The Great Ocean Road

Day 2
Our ride

It took me nearly 3 months, but with only 10 days left til I leave Australia I finally got around to doing the Great Ocean Road. I guess thinking that I’d lost my job turned out to be a good thing as it meant I made plans for the weekend (when I normally work), so when I got told I could keep working until I leave I still ended up getting the weekend off. And while it was a little bit cold and I’d rather have done it a couple of months ago when the weather was warmer, at this point I thought I wasn’t going to get to do it at all so better late than never!

From Loch Ard Gorge
Some of the amazing rock formations along the coast

Seeing as most of my friends had already made the trip, I ended up going with a group of girls I’d never met before who happened to have a spare seat in their car. If someone had told me before I came here the amount of times I would end up doing things with complete strangers I would never have believed it, but it’s just become the norm. So at 8am we set off, a group of one Scottish, one French, one German and one Finnish girl.

A Bird in the Hand...
Feeding parrots at Kennett River

The Great Ocean Road mainly follows the coast, but there are times when it goes inland and 10 minutes drive from the beach you suddenly find yourself in a rain forest. So in amongst driving along ridiculously scenic coastal roads and admiring the stunning rock formations and beaches, we went for a lot of walks in perfectly silent rainforests where quite often we were the only people around. I guess the good thing about going at this time of year rather than in the summer is that it was a lot quieter, and it wasn’t until we reached the 12 Apostles that it felt at all touristy.

12 Apostles
The 12 Apostles at dusk

We drove as far as Port Campbell, where we stayed overnight in a hostel. By the time we got there it was dark, and so we didn’t realise what a gorgeous little town it is until the next morning. From there we headed a little further along the road to see The Arch and London Bridge, before heading back and stopping at Loch Ard Gorge before taking a slightly different route back part of the way.

Port Campbell
Port Campbell

The Arch
The Arch

London Bridge
London Bridge

So I finally did it, and it was really great. Considering we spent so much of the time sitting in the car, I’m surprisingly exhausted from driving nearly 800km in 2 days! But that’s another thing crossed of my Melbourne To Do List, and with only a handful of days before I head back to the UK I need to get down to the other things that are left!

Leave a Reply

