Ommm…

I realise it’s been a while, but my life seemed to become very routine and (most likely to other people) boring after I came back from Sydney. Partly it was the sudden and very unwelcome arrival of Winter which prevented me from going on any adventures, but mostly it was because I threw myself into yoga.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned my out of control ice cream addiction before. Well after a weekend of over-indulgence in Sydney in the form of pistachio, Creme Egg, white chocolate fudge macadamia and some other flavours I can’t even remember, I decided enough is enough and I had to kick the habit and start making some attempt to be healthy again. While at first replacing ice cream with yoga seemed like a much healthier option, it is undoubtedly going to be a lot worse for my bank account. Sure, I’m no longer splurging on N2’s gelato (this is actually a lie, my friends dragged me in there the other day after weeks of resisting) or getting carried away at the self-serve fro-yo, but yoga don’t come cheap either. But it’s too late, I’ve been sucked in.


Ok, ok, I went twice. YOLO. Bread & butter crème brulée & Grand Marnier soaked strawberries with chocolate. Yum.

It started out with a two week unlimited pass to Humming Puppy in Prahran, which is without a doubt the nicest studio I’ve ever seen, and I made the most of those two weeks by going at least once every day. After just a couple of days I developed a severe addiction to the omm-ing, the tiny cups of coconut water, the beautiful, serene yogis with their inspiring quotes and wise teachings on how to love ourselves a little bit more. Unfortunately all good things must come to and end and it almost broke my little heart to leave, but my measly au pair salary just can’t keep up.

Luckily for me I discovered Happy Melon, a mind and body studio which has just opened in Malvern who are offering a week of unlimited classes completely free, so I’ve been taking advantage of that this week. It’s not quite as beautiful and their yoga doesn’t really do it for me in the same way, but as they offer other classes as well I tried my first meditation and pilates classes this week, the latter of which I discovered I love.

In between all the yoga I’ve been having a lot of Melbourne-based fun these past few weeks. Discovering new bars, cafés & restaurants, singing karaoke, trying some of Acland Street’s finest cakes in St Kilda, seeing some free stand-up comedy (wouldn’t necessarily recommend this one), visiting a pink lake, discovering the semi-healthy joys of raw baking, perfecting my Sunday Sesh-ing, and most importantly going to my first AFL game. It’s starting to hit me that I’m leaving soon (less than 3 weeks!), and I have really mixed feelings about it right now. On the one hand I can’t wait to see my friends and family again, but I also feel like I’m starting to put roots down here and having fallen in love with Melbourne from day 1 it’s going to be very hard to leave.


Sunny days in St Kilda


AFL at the MCG


‘Healthy’ raw desserts – bliss balls & chocolate avocado mousse cake

For a post about yoga & being healthy this has ended up with a lot of food & drink & unhealthiness… Gotta have a balance I guess!

One thought on “Ommm…

Leave a Reply

